Sri Lanka government planning to set up 10 new universities. Government to setup those campuses in Kalutara, Nuwara Eliya, Galle, Hambantota and Matara within this year by using the loan granted by the Asian Development Bank ADB in an efficient manner.

In order to fulfill the pledge made by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa, government has decided to increase the number of university admissions up to 60,000 by 2030. Currently about 30,000 students are admitting to state universities. Accordingly, a decision has also been taken to set up a national university in each and every district of the country. Currently there are 15 state universities.

Cabinet of ministers has given the nod to proceed with a set of proposals presented by the Minister of Higher Education Dr. Bandula Gunawardena for the expansion of the national university system.

Minister at the cabinet media briefing revealed that the national university system, particularly the technical universities, will be expanded by the increased loan amount provided by the Asian Development Bank’s Science Technology and Human Resources Project.

Under this Government, it is planned to increase the number of students admitted to Universities from 30,000 to 60000 and to establish one National University in each District.

The government expects to build 10 universities by increasing the current Rs.165 million loan amount of Asian Development Bank by Rs. $ 50 million. Accordingly, New National Universities will be built in Kaluthara, Nuwara Eliya, Hambantota, Mathara and Galle Districts this year.

According to the Minister Gunawardena’s proposals, the University of Sri Jayewardenepura will be developed as an international Research University.

It is expected to establish an Allergy, Immune and Surgical Biology Unit and a modern investigation unit for non-communicable diseases and allergies. Under the program, Rs. 400 million will be allocated for the purchase of respective equipment.

The University of Sri Jayewardenepura is already in the process of exchanging students and professors with USA, UK and Sweden. Research programs with foreign experts and scholars will be expanded in the future, the Minister said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here